The Thankfulness Roundup 2016

img_0082As far as days go, it’s been a really good one.

As far as months go, it’s been a pretty good one. (There was just, you know, THE ELECTION, nbd).

As far as years go, it’s been a really good one.

I’m thankful for a lot of things this year. And, since I did a post like this last year, I’ve decided to honor the trend and keep it going. Thanksgiving is about adhering blindly to tradition, right?

(Stop being so cynical, Hudson). Here’s what I’m most thankful for in 2016.

Friends and Family

Yawn. How basic could I be, right? But honestly — the older I get the more I realize how terrible the world and its people can be. I’m so incredibly grateful for the friends I have in this world. Sometimes I think they are the last 15 or so sane people left on the planet.

My yoga practice

(I’m more basic than I thought.) I’ve learned a lot about myself in yoga. I’ve learned that I have a tendency to give up or become frustrated or angry at myself if I’m unable to do something. I’ve learned to be patient with myself in those instances. I’ve learned that I’m stronger than I ever thought I was. I’ve learned how to listen to my body both on and off of my mat.  I’ve learned that my spine can backward bend. I’ve learned that the things that look the easiest are sometimes the hardest (I’m looking at you, tuladandasana). I’ve learned that you get out of your practice (or out of life) what you put into it.

Eating Disorder Recovery

Sometimes I feel angry, bitter and embarrassed about the several years I spent living with an eating disorder. Sometimes I feel like I wasted the best years of my life counting calories and crying over gaining .4 pounds and being hungry and hating myself but pretending everything was just fine. But then I realize the best is yet to be, and I am who I am today because of what I’ve been through in the past. I would never, ever wish an eating disorder on anyone, but I’ve learned so much about myself about self-love and self-care. I can’t say I’d trade it.

My sense of self

I like the person I am. I like the person I’m becoming. I’m kinder to myself. I put my needs first, because I can. I am probably a little bit selfish right now at this point in my life, and I’m going to cherish that.

My Job

It’s so, so great to have a job that you love. I was pretty unhappy at my previous job, and now that I’m at a job where work doesn’t feel like work and where the hours and days and weeks fly by, I’m realizing how crucial it is to spend your days doing something you enjoy. I’m so grateful to be at a good job with good people doing tasks that hardly feel like work at all.

Solid Heart, Strong Body

I drank too much coffee one day and went shopping and left out of Old Navy with a workout tank that said “Solid Heart Strong Body.” I got home and I was like WHAT HAVE I DONE AND WHO AM I, but I’m glad I bought it. We get too swept up in “How much do I weigh?” or “What size jeans can I fit?” or “How much did I eat today?” and we forget that none of that matters. Eat and workout to nourish your heart, mind and body.

Being Single

Being single is so dope. I can do whatever I want whenever I want and I answer to no one and I love being alone more than anything. Will I be single forever? I can only hope. (I might be a psycho).

I feel like none of the things I’m thankful for are new and groundbreaking realizations. It’s all been bubbling under the surface. 2016 was just the journey that brought me here. I’ll conclude with this quote from T.S. Eliot. It’s one of my favorites.

“We shall not cease from exploration, and the end of all our exploring will be to arrive where we started and know the place for the first time.”

Live long and prosper. Namaste. Cheers, etc.

-Christine

 

 

Leave a Reply

