The Big Chop is Friday

Ok. It’s happening. My big chop is Friday. This Friday. As in, the day after tomorrow.

I’m going for the TWA (teeny weeny afro) and I’m terrified.

I’m excited.

60ce2e1835182154d8f20627c667d0cb

Image courtesy of Pinterest

I waver between terrified and excited. Right now, I’m excited. Twenty minutes ago I was so terrified I was crying.

Mostly, I’m afraid because I don’t know what my hair type is. I’m guessing I’m 4b or 4c. I can’t remember natural hair. I’ve had a relaxer since I was eight. My only memories of my natural hair are terrible – my mom yelling at me and me crying when it was time for her to do my hair.

I don’t like my relaxed hair anymore. I’m tired of straight. I’m tired of living in fear of my own NATURAL hair. The hair that grows out of my head. I’ve had enough of being told my natural hair isn’t good enough.

I’m doing more research now about products and care. A YouTube video of some beautiful girl’s beautiful hair is on in the background at the moment.

Trying to keep my expectations real. I’ve been looking at photos of these TWA goddesses, but I’m trying to keep in mind that I won’t look like them.

Ok. That’s enough. If the big chop goes well on Friday, I’ll post a photo. If it doesn’t, I’m going to buy a wig and go straight to the bar and drink my sorrows away.

 

 

3 thoughts on “The Big Chop is Friday

  1. justvou says:

    Oh love, don’t stress it too much. It was a very liberating feeling for me, I wish you have the same too. Just enjoy each phase of the journey. I wish you all the best.

    Like

Leave a Reply

