Why healthy eating should include full-fat desserts

I’m going to make a bold statement: Eating healthy means enjoying full-fat desserts. WHAT? Yes. I’m so serious. No, I’m not a registered dietitian. I’m not a certified nutritionist. I have no credentials to support this claim. I’m just someone who tried for a long time to eat around the foods I truly wanted in attempt to lose weight and establish a “healthy diet.”

 

We’ve all done this. Want a brownie? No! That’s unhealthy. Can’t have that in the house! So instead, you make a brownie batter out of black beans, avocado and almond flour. A safe, healthy alternative. You bake it, you eat it. It tastes like sludge, but it’s healthy! You eat one, and because it tastes like sludge and not a brownie, you still want a brownie. So you eat another. Nope, still not the brownie you wanted. Maybe you eat a few more, still trying to satisfy the craving. Maybe, if you’re like me, you polish of most (if not all) of the pan. Are you satisfied? Nope.

You knew exactly what you wanted, your brain knew exactly what you wanted, yet you still prepared and ate something else, and now are left wondering why the black-bean-avocado-sludge brownies aren’t quite satisfying your sweet tooth.

I’m going to throw something out there. Unless you have dietary restrictions (vegan, gluten-free) from a health/calorie perspective you really aren’t doing yourself any favors by baking black-bean-avocado-sludge brownies instead of butter-sugar-egg brownies.

One reasonably sized, homemade full-fat brownie has between 100-150 calories, 8g of fat, 12g of carbs and 30g of sugar.

One reasonably sized black bean brownie has 140-200 calories, 6g of fat, 28g carbs and 18g of sugar.

We spend so much time, effort and calories eating around what we want and after so long, it’s bad for our mental health. The brownies are just one example. Want pizza? Try these cauliflower breadsticks instead! Want pasta? Julienne some zucchini! Want ice cream? Have nonfat froyo! Sometimes, a healthy alternative might sound like the best choice. But, if you really want a brownie, have the brownie. And here’s a registered dietitian to back me up on that.

I made the brownies above for dessert one night because I knew I wanted a brownie topped with ice cream. I baked them, cut a warm, gooey, fudgy square. Topped it with a small scoop of ice cream I forgot I had in the freezer. Ate it. Loved it. And not only was I satisfied instantly, but I was satisfied even hours after it was gone.

To me, eating healthy means eating a variety of foods, eating what sounds good right in the moment you want it, and eating to nourish your mind and body.

Picutre: The Dopest Brownies Ever // RECIPE & INSTRUCTIONS

 

 

Leave a Reply

