Christmas cookie production: The time is now

This weekend marks the beginning of Christmas Cookie Production 2016. It’s a major operation. I’m in the planning stages now, pinning some new recipes and laying out a project plan and cookie recipient list (with delivery dates for each person). The first year I tried to do this, I totally underestimated how long it takes to bake dozens and dozens of cookies — and misjudged the difficulty of also delivering dozens and dozens of cookies. Mostly, I just ended up eating all the cookies myself. It was a disaster.

But I’m older and wiser and now I know what’s up. I won’t fall victim to poor planning again. Tonight, I’m making a master shopping list tonight. Tomorrow, I’m shopping. Saturday, I’m making dough and probably baking a few of each as a test. I’ll also have pictures and recipes posted, probably on Sunday. Here’s what’s on the roster.

Nutella Stuffed Brown Butter Sea Salt Chocolate Chip Cookies // RECIPE

I am not kidding when I say this is the best cookie I’ve ever had. This cookie is serious. I would lay down my life for this cookie. It’s life-changing. It also involves browning butter which is insanely fun and feels like a magic trick.

Soft and Chewy Sugar Doodle Vanilla Cookies // RECIPE

Complicated cookies with brown butter and sea salt and three different types of chocolate chips are nice, but don’t sleep on these soft and chewy sugar doodles. Every year I make them, I think “Sugar cookies? Who still eats these things? Why do I bother?” Then they come out of the oven and I taste it and I remember why I make these every year. I’m going to go ahead and say that not a Christmas will pass without me making these cookies.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Shortbread Cookies // RECIPE

These cookies literally melt in your mouth. They will even fall apart if you handle them too roughly. They’re delicate and delicious and dainty. So delicate that I actually might not package these up for delivery… and just eat them all myself.

Mini Pecan Pies // RECIPE

After I had an amazing slice of pecan pie at Thanksgiving (and passed out post-sugar high), I realized pecan pie is really good. Duh. The sugar rush was way too intense though, so these little guys should be a more feasible serving. Sure, they’re not a cookie, but pecan pie is a holidays thing, right?

Soft Baked Lemon Cookies // RECIPE

My boyfriend requested something lemon-flavored this year, so I’ve decided to honor that request. I’m guessing these will taste a lot like the sugar doodles, but lemon.

The Famous Sea Salt Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

I actually don’t remember where/when/if I found a recipe for these, but these are my #1 go-to dessert. I have a friend whose mom was considering paying me to bake these and ship them to her. They’re that good. I’ll post the recipe when I make them.

But, Christine, isn’t that too many cookies? NOPE. No such thing.

Each cookie delivery will include a small handmade card and some sort of cute packaging that I have yet to decide on.

Burning Questions:

What’s your favorite christmas cookie?

Has anyone else ever come down from a sugar high so bad they passed out too?

Is this too many cookies??

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Christmas cookie production: The time is now

Leave a Reply

