Weekend Recap: First snow of the season, all the writing and a runaway border collie

This weekend has been an introvert’s dream. I’ve barely seen, spoken to or heard from anyone besides my cat. (Yes, that’s a good thing). In the last 72-48 hours, I:

Sunday breakfast: An avocado egg sandwich with coffee and raspberries

  • Wrote a short story
  • Finally set up this blog
  • Went to one of the greatest hot yoga classes I’ve ever been to
  • Watched three not-so-great movies (Mockingjay parts one & two, Spectre)
  • Made an eye appointment to pick out some dope glasses to match my upcoming TWA
  • Got my eyebrows threaded for the first time, also in preparation for my upcoming TWA
  • Finally gave up on trying to grow some ornamental kale, and trashed it (RIP)
  • Picked up prescriptions from the pharmacy (I dread the pharmacy)
  • Went on a snowy walk in my favorite boots (Wolfie loved the snow)
  • Ate at Chipotle for the first time in years (awful)
  • Swindled a free truffle from See’s Candies
  • Bought groceries for the week, including Thanksgiving

  • Stopped off at Banana Republic real quick and found the cable knit sweater of my dreams (along with a pleated skirt and black “cape”, more or less) 
  • Watched a whole squad of old white people try to chase down and apprehend a Border Collie named “Buster” who was 400% over them
  • Ate intuitively and perhaps for the first time in years, made it through the whole weekend without overeating

 

So, onto the big question. What am I cooking for Thanksgiving? The same thing I made last year. And the year before that. (Creature of habit. Whatever.)

Broccoli Cheddar Cornbread

This is essentially just a corn-based cake with broccoli and cheddar tossed in. It’s so good. But, vegetarians beware of Jiffy cornbread mix. Animal shortening is like, the third ingredient. Really, Jiffy? // RECIPE

Homemade Cranberry Sauce

I’m not sure that canned cranberry sauce is actually a food item meant for human consumption. Making  your own cranberry sauce is too easy, plus you can make it more sweet or tart, depending on your taste. I’m all about the tart life. // RECIPE

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Bread

This is one my favorite desserts of all time — and considering dessert is my favorite food, this is a pretty prestigious title. This bread is super dense, rich and satisfying. One slice does it. That means a lot coming from me. I ate low-cal, low-fat banana zucchini “dessert” bread for a long time, made from pine cones, unsweetened applesauce and hay. It was unsatisfying, so I’d end up eating half the loaf. Then I had this bread and remembered how dessert bread is supposed to taste. // RECIPE

Threaded brows!

I’m looking forward to this week — which is something I haven’t said in a long time. I’m planning to buy Christmas lights, a stocking for Wolfgang, an eyebrow pencil and picture frames for some prints I’ve had lying around for a while.

For now though, I’m going to listen to the rest of this Drake/Future collabo and troll Tumblr.

4 thoughts on “Weekend Recap: First snow of the season, all the writing and a runaway border collie

Leave a Reply

