Visualizing Myself A Year From Now

At a company meeting last week, one of the founders had us visualize the company five years down the road – thriving, successful, growing and killing it. It was a nice exercise.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI decided to do it for myself, but for where I want to be a year from now in terms of recovery. This is what I came up with and it’s totally different from the life I live now, the life I’ve been living for the last two and a half years — and it’s even different from the life I grew up living. Living this way would be new for me. And I want it more than anything.

Here’s what I visualize for myself by June 29, 2016:

 

I don’t count calories or macronutrients. I eat mindfully and I eat a balanced diet that includes a variety of foods. I eat what sounds good, and while I’m mindful of nutrition needs and basic serving sizes, I do not let that govern my food choices entirely. I enjoy everything I want in moderation and without guilt. I attend food-centered events and restaurants without anxiety beforehand or guilt afterwards. I don’t let food get in the way of my social life. I enjoy eating in the company of friends and family instead of fearing it. I exercise to improve my mind and body. I workout 3 to 5 times per week and adequately replenish my body afterwards. I don’t exercise out of obligation or guilt, but for enjoyment and health benefits. I take rest days when I need them and I allow built-in rest days for repair and recovery. 
 
I no longer:
  • Fear certain foods
  • Fear calories
  • Restrict or deprive
  • Let my weight inform my outlook on the day/life
  • Binge eat
  • Purge
  • Lie about how much I ate or how much I exercised
  • Fear gaining weight
  • Live to lose weight
  • Exercise when I’m injured or tired
Instead, I:
  • Eat a variety of foods
  • Eat enough to nourish my body
  • Pay attention to how my body feels
  • May occasionally eat more than I need, but don’t let it ruin me
  • Love my body (the way it looks and feels) every day
  • Enjoy food/meals and even exercise in the company of friends and family
  • Am an Intuitive Eater
I’m happy, healthy, confident and fit. I look and feel great. I love myself and my body unconditionally. I have an inner stillness and peace that is not linked to or dependent on my appearance or circumstances. I’m getting closer every day to being the best I can be. 
 
Small Steps, 
 
Christine
 
June 29, 2015
One thought on “Visualizing Myself A Year From Now

Leave a Reply

